Sapphire

Impex HighTech offers a wide range of products of synthetic sapphire. This material is used among others to manufacture precision optics, domes, high pressure components, and other optics.

Some of our main products

  • Sapphire substrates
  • Sapphire domes (grounded and polished)
  • Sapphire windows for optical standard applications
  • Precision windows (laser, analytics, measurement technique)
  • Sapphire windows with very high aperture
  • High temperature windows
  • High pressure windows
  • Scanning windows
  • High pressure tubes
  • Sapphire tubes and crucibles (chemical industry)
  • Sapphire light guidance (Beauty Care / dermatology)
  • Sapphire tips / scalpels (laser surgery)
  • Bearing bricks
  • Sapphire components on specific request
  • Sapphire optics from stock

Synthetic single crystalline Sapphire (Al2O3)

is the most requested material for optical high-tech applications due to its unique combination of excellent physical and chemical properties. Sapphire is transparent over a large wavelength range from Vacuum-UV up to middle infrared (0.18µm up to nearly 6µm). Because of its rhombic, hexagonal crystal structure, sapphire shows anisotropic behavior in many of its optical and physical properties. Therefore, the exact behavior optical components made of sapphire is strongly dependent on the crystallographic alignment relative to the optical axis (c-axis, 0001). Sapphire shows slight birefringence in all crystal directions except parallel to the c-axis. As sapphire is the hardest material among the oxidic single crystals, sapphire can be processed by only a few materials (e.g., diamond or boron carbide) due to its extreme hardness. It therefor is "scratch resistant" to other materials. Thanks to its high strength, sapphire windows, for example, can be made much thinner than comparable windows made of other optical materials while maintaining the same performance. That is one more reason to use sapphire also at wavelengths close to the transmission limit. The resistivity towards most chemicals, its high temperature resistivity and biocompatibility open many other application possibilities besides optics in the fields of industry, medicine & Healthcare, aerospace etc.

We deliver preferably - but not only - sapphire materials produced via the following methods:

DSC00434-2a

Kyropoulos Method

This growth method results in very big crystal bulbs with nearly cylindric shape, diameters between 70mm and 300mm and a length up to 600mm. Kyropoulus crystals stand out in their high homogeneity and very low dislocation density (crystal defects) and can be cut in any orientation. This method is economically efficient to produce substrates for LED and SOS technology.

sapphire-chemical

Stepanov (EFG) Method

This method allows the crystal growth with geometries near the final product and minimizes the processing effort. This results in a significant cost reduction diversely. These include tubes, rods (also single- or multi-hole rods), plates or, e.g., unilaterally closed crucibles. Such plates can reach dimensions of 80mm width and over 1000mm length. Rods and tubes can be larger depending on the diameter. These crystals can grow according to different crystallographic orientations and can be applied wherever the optical requirements are not so high.

Optical properties
Transmission range in µm (minimum 10%)
0.14-6.4

0.15-5.4 (parallel c-axis)

Transmission range in µm (minimum 50%)
0,16‐4
Refractive index @633nm
1.766 (no)

1.758 (neo)

Reflection losses in % at 1 surface
6.94 @2.9µm
Reflection losses in % at 2 surfaces
14 @0.06µm
dN/dT in 1/K
13.6 · 10-6
Physical properties
Density in g/cm3
3.97-3.99
Melting point in °C
2053
Spezific heat capacity in J/(kg · K)
753
Thermal conductivity in W/(m · K)
32.5 (parallel c-axis)

30.3 (perpendicular c-axis)

Thermal expension in 1/K
6.6 · 10-6 (parallel c-axis)

5 · 10-6 (perpendicular c-axis)

Dielectric constants
11.5 (parallel c-axis)

9.3 (perpendicular c-axis)

Solubility in water in g/100g
insoluble
Mohs hardness
9
Knoop hardness in kg/mm²
1900 (parallel c-axis)

2200 (perpendicular c-axis)

Material type
single crystalline, synthetic
Crystal type
hexagonal
Crystal structure
R3c
Lattice constant in Å
a = 4.785

c = 12.991

Elastic coefficient in GPa
C11 = 497

C12 = 164

C33 = 498

C44 = 147

C13 = 111

C14 = 24

Young's Modulus (E) in Gpa
360-440
Shear Modulus (G) in GPa
145
Bulk Modulus (K) in GPa
145
Rupture Modulus in MPa
450‐900
Apparent elastic limit in MPa
480‐890
Poisson ratio
0.27-0.3
Spectral properties

Main application areas of synthetic sapphire

Optics

Sapphire is the excellent material for most demanding optical applications due to its high transparency in the wavelength area of approximately 180nm to 6µm and, because it is harder than glass in order of magnitudes. The high optical transmission in combination with the nearly 100% chemical resistivity, mechanical friction resistance and high temperature tolerance makes sapphire to the leading material in the optical sensor technology, spectroscopy, interferometry etc.

Mechanics

Sapphire has a wide application area as scratch-resistant cover glass for high-quality watches, scanning applications (supermarket, logistics, chemical and pharmaceutical industry) and other areas where high mechanical resistivity is needed. From bearing stones to cell phone displays to water- / sand-blasting nozzles!

High temperature and high pressure

Due to the combination of its unique physical, chemical and optical properties, sapphire can withstand highest pressure or thermal shock. Because it has a melting point of more than 2000°C, it is the ideal material for high temperature applications but comes also into play in cryogenics. Customer specific high temperature tubes and oven windows or vacuum viewports are only a small part of our production range.

Chemistry

Sapphire is inert against most acids and alkalines up to a temperature of 1000°C. Therefore, it has different applications in the chemical industry. Tubes, crucibles and optics made of sapphire offer extremely long service lives compared to other materials or do not need to be changed at all. Sapphire replaces more and more quartz products due to its high lifetime and low contamination abilities with good UV transmission.

Electrical engineering

Due to the high and stable dielectric constants of sapphire, it is widely applied as electronic substrate material besides typical application as isolation and thermal conductivity. By exploiting the anisotropic properties, sapphire wafer are the bases for different products from the semiconductor industry and therefore, they are the most widely used substrate material for the epitaxial layer deposition for LEDs based on GaN.

Medicine

Sapphire is a common window material for medical (and also technical) endoscopes. In addition to biocompatibility, this is based on high resistance in contact with biological tissue and medical fluids and easy sterilizability in autoclaves. The use of scalpels or tips made of sapphire for the laser surgery is common today. In the field Beauty Care / dermatology, sapphire light guides form the contact between high energy sources and human skin, e.g., to treat pigment disorders, hair and tattoo removal etc.

Saphir

Impex HighTech GmbH bietet eine breite Palette von Produkten aus synthetischem Saphir an.Dieses Material wird u.a. zur Herstellung von Präzisionsoptiken, Kuppeln/Domen, Hochdruckkomponenten, und anderen Optiken verwendet.

Einige unserer Hauptprodukte sind

  • Saphirsubstrate
  • Saphirdome (geschliffen und poliert)
  • Saphirfenster optische Standardanwendungen
  • Präzisionsfenster (Laser, Analytik, Messtechnik)
  • Saphirfenster mit sehr großer Apertur
  • Hochtemperaturfenster
  • Hochdruckfenster
  • Scannerfenster
  • Hochdruckrohre
  • Saphirrohre und Saphirtiegel (chemische Industrie)
  • Saphirlichtleiter (Beauty Care/Dermatologie )
  • Saphirspitzen/Saphirskalpelle (Laserchirugie)
  • Lagersteine
  • Saphirkomponente auf die spezifische Anfrage
  • Saphir Optik vom Lager

Synthetischer einkristalliner Saphir (Al2O3)

ist aufgrund seiner einzigartigen Kombination herausragender optischer, physikalischer und chemischer Eigenschaften das meistgefragte Material im Bereich optischer Hochtechnologieanwendungen. Saphir ist transparent über einen großen Wellenlängenbereich vom Vakuum-UV bis ins mittlere Infrarot (0,18 µm bis nahezu 6 µm). Aufgrund seiner rhombisch-hexagonalen Kristallstruktur zeigt Saphir in vielen seiner optischen und physikalischen Eigenschaften anisotropes Verhalten. Daher ist das genaue Verhalten optischer Komponenten aus Saphir stark abhängig von der kristallografischen Ausrichtung relativ zur optischen Achse (c-Achse, 0001). Saphir zeigt leichte Doppelbrechung in allen Kristallrichtungen außer parallel zur c-Achse. Aufgrund seiner extremen Härte – Saphir ist der härteste unter den oxidischen Einkristallen – kann Saphir nur mit wenigen Materialien (z.B. Diamant oder Borkarbid) bearbeitet werden, ist also „kratzfest“ gegenüber anderen Materialien. Dank seiner großen Festigkeit können z.B. Saphirfenster bei gleicher Performance sehr viel dünner gearbeitet werden als vergleichbare Fenster aus anderen optischen Materialien. Ein Grund mehr Saphir auch bei Wellenlängen nahe der Transmissionsgrenze einzusetzen. Die Beständigkeit gegenüber den meisten Chemikalien, seine hohe Temperaturbelastbarkeit und Biokompatiblität erschließen diesem Material unzählige weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten außerhalb der Optik in den Bereichen Industrie, Medizin & Healthcare, Luft- und Raumfahrt usw. Wir liefern vorzugsweise – aber nicht nur – Saphirmaterial, das nach den folgenden Methoden hergestellt wird:
DSC00432

Kyropoulos-Methode

Diese Züchtungsmethode ergibt sehr große Kristallbirnen mit nahezu zylindrischer Form und Durchmessern von 70 mm bis 300 mm und einer Länge von bis zu 600 mm. Kyropoulos-Kristalle zeichnen sich hohe optische Homogenität und sehr niedriger Versetzungsdichte (Kristallfehlstellen) aus und können in jegliche Orientierung zerschnitten werden. Dieses Verfahren ist wirtschaftlich sehr effizient zur Herstellung von Substraten für die LED- und SOS-Technologie.
röhrchen

Stepanov (EFG)-Methode

Diese Methode erlaubt die Züchtung von Kristallen mit Geometrien nahe dem Endprodukt und minimiert den weiteren Bearbeitungsaufwand. Dies führt vielfältig zu einer signifikanten Kostensenkung. Dazu zählen Rohre, Stäbe (auch Ein- und Mehrlochstäbe), Platten oder z.B. einseitig geschlossene Tiegel. Deartige Platten können Abmessungen von ca. 80 mm Breite und über 1000 mm Länge erreichen, Stäbe und Rohre je nach Durchmesser noch länger. Diese Kristalle können nach verschiedenen kristallografischen Orientierungen gezüchtet werden und finden überall dort Anwendung, wo die optischen Anforderungen nicht so hoch sind.

Optische Eigenschaften
Transmissionsbereich in µm @10% Min. 0,14-6,4
0,15-5,4 (parallel c-Achse)
Transmissionsbereich in µm @10% Min. 0,16-4
Brechungsindex @633nm 1,766 (no)
1,758 (nao)
Reflexionsverluste in % an 1 Oberfläche 6,94 @2,9µm
Reflexionsverluste in % an 2 Oberflächen 14 @0,06µm
dN/dT in 1/K 13,6 · 10-6
Physikalische Eigenschaften
Dichte in g/cm³ 3,97 - 3,99
Schmelzpunkt in °C 2053
Spezifische Wärmekapazität in J/(kg · K) 753
Thermische Leitfähigkeit in W/(m · K) 32,5 (parallel c-Achse)
30,3 (senkrecht c-Achse)
Thermische Ausdehnung in 1/K 6,6 · 10-6 (parallel c-Achse)
5 · 10-6 (senkrecht c-Achse)
Dielektische Konstante 11,5 (parallel c-Achse)
9,3 (senkrecht c-Achse)
Wasserlöslichkeit in g/100g unlöslich
Mohs-Härte 9
Knoop-Härte in kg/mm² 1900 (parallel c-Achse)
2200 (senkrecht c-Achse)
Materialtyp Einkristall, synthetisch
Kristalltyp hexagonal
Kristallstruktur R3c
Gitterkonstante in Å a = 4,785
c = 12,991
Elastizitätskonstanten in GPa C11 = 497
C12 = 164
C33 = 498
C44 = 147
C13 = 111
C14 = 24
Elastizitätsmodul (E) in GPa 360 - 440
Schubmodul (G) in GPa 145
Kompressionsmodul (K) in GPa 145
Biegefestigkeit in MPa 450 - 900
Dehnungsgrenze in MPa 480 - 890
Poissonzahl 0,27 - 0,3
Spektrale Eigenschaften

Hauptanwendungsgebiete von synthetischem Saphir

Optik

Saphir ist das überragende Material für die anspruchsvollsten optischen Anwendungen. Zum Einen aufgrund seiner hohen Transparenz im weiten Wellenlängen-bereich von < 180 nm bis nahezu 6 µm und zum Anderen ist es um Größenordnungen fester als Glas. Die hohe optische Transmission in Verbindung mit der fast 100%igen chemischen Beständigkeit, der mechanischen Verschleißfestigkeit und hohen Temperaturverträglichkeit machen Saphir zum führenden Material in der optischen Sensorik, Spektroskopie, Interferometrie usw.

Mechanik

Saphir findet breite Anwendung als kratzfestes Deckglas bei hochwertigen Uhren, Scanneranwendungen (Supermarkt, Logistik, chemische und pharmazeutische Industrie) und anderen Einsatzgebieten, wo höchste Verschleißfestigkeit gefragt ist. Vom Lagerstein über Handydisplays bis hin zur Wasser-/Sandstrahldüse!

Hochtemperatur- und Hochdruck

Aufgrund der einzigartigen Kombination von physikalischen, chemischen und optischen Eigenschaften kann Saphir höchsten Druck- und Temperaturschockeinflüssen ausgesetzt werden. Mit einem Schmelzpunkt von über 2000°C ein ideales Material für Hochtemperaturanwendungen, kommt aber auch in der Kryotechnik zum Einsatz. Kundenspezifische Hochtemperaturrohre und Ofenfenster oder Vakuum-Viewports sind nur ein kleiner Auszug aus unserer Fertigungspalette.

Chemie

Saphir ist chemisch inert gegenüber den meisten üblichen Säuren und Laugen, und das bis zu einer Temperatur von ca. 1000°C. Daher bieten Saphirrohre, -tiegel, -optiken in den verschiedensten Anwendungen in der chemischen Industrie extrem hohe Standzeiten gegenüber anderen Materialien oder müssen gar nicht gewechselt werden. Saphir ersetzt mehr und mehr Quarzprodukte aufgrund seiner höheren Lebensdauer und geringerer Kontaminierbarkeit bei gleichzeitig guter UV-transmission.

Elektrotechnik

Neben den typischen Applikationen Isolation und Wärmeleitung findet Saphir aufgrund seiner hohen und stabilen dielektrischen Konstante breite Anwendung als elektronisches Substratmaterial. Unter Ausnutzung der anisotropen Eigenschaften bilden Saphirwafer die Grundlage für diverse Produkte aus dem Halbleiterbereich und ist derzeit das am meisten eingesetzte Substratmaterial für die epitaxiale Schichtabscheidung für die Gallium-Nitrit GaN basierten LED (Light Emitting Diodes).

Medizin

Saphir ist ein gängiges Fenstermaterial für medizinische (auch technische) Endoskope. Das basiert neben der Biokompatiblität auf der hohen Beständigkeit in Kontakt mit biologischem Gewebe und medizinischen Flüssigkeiten und der einfachen Sterilisiertbarkeit im Autoklaven. Der Einsatz von Saphirskalpellen oder Spitzen für die Laserchirugie ist heute gängige Praxis. Im Bereich Beauty Care/Dermatologie bilden Saphirlichtleiter den Kontakt zwischen der Hochenergiequelle und der menschlichen Haut, z.B. bei der Behandlung von Pigmentstörungen, Haar- und Tattooentfernung usw.