Beta Barium Borate

Material
BBO

 

Beta Barium Borate (BBO or ß-BaB2O4) is an excellent optical non-linear crystal. It exhibits broad phase matching range, high non-linearity (about 6 times more than that of KDP), high optical damage threshold, good mechanical and temperature stability. This trigonal uniaxial crystal possesses wide transparency range from 190nm up to 2500nm.

 

Such non-linear crystal is used for harmonic generation (SHG, THG, 4HG, 5HG) of Nd:YAG laser, SHG, THG of Ti:Sapphire and Alexandrite laser, for tunable Optical Parametrical Oscillator (OPO) pumped by 355nm, 532nm or 1064nm laser radiation, for UV sources generated by SHG, SFG (Sum Frequency Generation) of dye laser and for autocorrelation (an optical pulse duration measurement technique) of ultra-short (ps and fs) laser. Further on BBO is used as Electro Optical (EO) Q-switch for example at 266nm. In such application it can be delivered in length up to 20mm and can be equipped with Cr/Au (Gold) coated electrodes attached to it.

 

Automatic technology (TSSG-method) allows to grow high quality crystals with 45mm-50mm diameter and 20mm length. Optical element sizes - (3mm–12mm) x (3mm–12mm) x (5mm–20mm), also 0.1mm-1.0mm thin plates are available.

 

Properties
Optical properties
Transmission range
189 ‐ 3500
Refractive index @532 nm
ne = 1,4525

no = 1,6749

Refractive index @ 1064 nm
ne = 1,5425

no = 1,6551

NLO coefficients in pm/V, @1064 nm
d22 = 2,2

d15 = d31 = 0,08

Absorption loss in %/cm @1064 nm
<0,1
Temperature acceptance in °C·cm
24 (Typ I, 1064 nm SHG)
Angular acceptance in mrad·cm
1,2 (Typ I, 1064 nm SHG)
Walk-off-angle
55,9 mrad (Typ I, 1064 nm SHG)
Physical properties
Chemical formula
β-BaB2O4
Density in g/cm3
3,85
Melting point in °C
≈1095
Lattice constants in Å
a= 12,532

b = 12,532

c = 12,717

Crystal structure
trigonal
Thermal conductivity in W/(m·K)
1,2 (⊥ c-Achse)

1,6 (∥ c-Achse)

Thermal expansion in 1/K
α11 = 4 ·10-6

α33 = 36·10-6

Mohs hardness
4,5
Specific heat capacity in J/(kg · °C)
490
Spectral properties
sample thickness: 10 mm

Beta-Bariumborat

Material
BBO

 

Beta-Bariumborat (BBO oder ß-BaB2O4) ist ein exzellenter nichtlinearer Kristall. Es besitzt einen großen Phasenanpassungbereich, hohe Nichtlinearität (6-mal größer als KDP), eine hohe optische Zerstörschwelle sowie gute mechanische und thermische Stabilität. Dieser trigonal uniaxiale Kristall besitzt einen großen Transparenzbereich von 190nm bis 2500nm.

 

Ein solcher Kristall wird zur Erzeugung höherer Harmonische (SHG, THG, 4HG, 5HG) des Nd:YAG-Lasers sowie SHG und THG vom Ti:Saphir- und Alexandrit-Laser, für durchstimmbare optisch parametrischer Oszillatoren (OPO) – die mit 355nm, 532nm oder 1064nm gepumpt werden, für UV-Quellen – die durch SHG, SFG (sum frequency generation) von Farbstofflasern, und für Autokorrelation (eine Methode zur optischen Messung von Pulsdauern) von ultrakurzen Pulsen (ps und fs) verwendet. Ebenso wird BBO als elekrooptischer Q-Switch beispielsweise bei 266nm genutzt. Bei einer solchen Anwendung kann es bis zu einer Länge von 20mm geliefert und zusätzlich mit Cr/Au-beschichteten Elektroden geliefert werden.

 

Automatisierte Technologien (TSSG-Methode) erlauben eine Herstellung von hoch qualitativen Kristallen mit 45mm-50mm Durchmesser und 20mm Länge. Folgende Größen optischer Elemente sind verfügbar: (3mm–12mm) x (3mm–12mm) x (5mm–20mm); ebenso 0,1mm-1,0mm dünne Platten sind verfügbar.

 

Properties