Lithium Niobate

Material
LiNbO3

 

Lithium Niobate (LiNbO3) possesses a combination of unique electro-optical, acoustic, piezoelectric, photoelastic and non-linear optical properties with exhibiting mechanical and chemical stability.

 

Lithium Niobate is strongly birefringent, lacks inversion symmetry and displays Pockels effect. Its birefringence is highly temperature dependent. That's why accurate heating of the crystal can be used to achieve phase matching in the medium. It possesses large effective non-linear, electro-optic and acousto-optic coefficients.

 

Lithium Niobate is commonly used in electro-optical, acousto-optical and non-linear optical devices, Pockels cells, optical parametric oscillators (OPO), optical switches for gigahertz frequencies, high-temperature acoustic transducers, receivers and transmitters of acoustic vibrations, laser frequency doubling, Q-switching devices for lasers.

 

The transverse modulation is mostly employed for lithium niobate crystals for using as frequency doubler for wavelength >1µm and OPO pumped at 1064nm as well as quasi-phase-matched frequency doublers.

Properties

Lithiumniobat

Material
LiNbO3

 

Lithiumniobat (LiNbO3) besitzt eine Kombination aus einzigartigen elektrooptischen, akustischen, piezoelektrischen und nichtlinearen optischen Eigenschaften mit mechanischer und chemischer Stabilität.

 

Lithiumniobat ist stark doppelbrechend, besitzt keine Inversionssymmetrie und zeigt den Pockels-Effekt. Seine Doppelbrechung ist stark von der Temperatur abhängig. Deshalb kann Phasenanpassung im Medium durch Temperaturerhöhung erreicht werden. Es besitzt große effektive nichtlineare, elektrooptische und akkustooptische Koeffizienten.

 

Lithiumniobat wird häufig in elektrooptischen, akkustooptischen und nicht-linearen optischen Bauteilen, Pockelszellen, optisch parametrischen Oszillatoren (OPO), optischen Schaltern im GHz-Frequenzbereich, Hochtemperatur-Schallwandler, Empfänger und Sender von akustischen Schwingungen, Laserfrequenzverdopplung und Q-Switch-Geräten für Laser.

 

Die transversale Modulation wird meist für Lithiumniobatkristalle als Frequenzverdoppler für Wellenlängen >1µm und OPO gepumpt bei 1064nm sowie für quasi-phasenangepasste Frequenzverdoppler eingesetzt.

Properties